Weekend at the Beach

It was another busy weekend for the Sutherlins. Filled with good food, great friends and plenty of family we don’t get to see very often.

Friday night we packed up the truck and headed to Santa Cruz to visit Jim’s grandparents on his mom’s side. We arrived late and went to bed late after talking with his grandparents until after midnight. In the morning, his grandma made us french toast for breakfast (two different kinds: one with regular bread and one with my gluten-free bread) and we spent the first half of the day hanging at the house with them.

They were heading off on a trip with their RV group, so we left them to pack their stuff and headed to the boardwalk.

It was crazy and packed with people and it took us over an hour to find a place to park (although when we finally did it was free as opposed to the $12 fee to park in one of the Boardwalk’s lots). There were so many people, we could barely walk through the crowds as we made our way down to the beach.

Someone had made a really cool shark out of sand. It was impossible to get a photo of it by itself because for some reason, every time someone else was done taking their photo, this lady in black and white in the front had to go in and get more pictures taken of her. People are strange.

Then we went inside and played some arcade games and stopped for a photo with the distorted mirrors. As you can see, Jim wasn’t too interested, and this mirror wasn’t too crazy. Our legs are super long though. We got $5 worth of coins and then gave our tickets to a cute little girl who was there with her dad. She was stoked!

Then we walked out to the wharf. From there we got a better scope of exactly how many people were on the beach. I can’t understand how it can be considered fun to hang out so close to so many other people. But then again, I didn’t grow up in beach culture, so maybe there’s something to it that I’m just not getting.

There were tons of seagulls and pelicans on the wharf, including this fellow who found a comfy spot on top of a trash can for a nap. These guys are mean when you get up close to him. After I snapped this photo, he opened his beady little eyes and followed me with them as I walked away. I thought he might peck my eyeballs out if I didn’t move fast!

There was a display about them in the wharf and I guess they’re endangered and were close to extinction several years ago. I can understand why if they’re such jerks!

When it got too warm and we were both tired of walking in sandals (Jim got a pretty nasty blister from the sand rubbing in his), we headed back to the car to meet our friends Nic and Christie for dinner. I have mentioned Christie before. She’s the one who married us. She’s also my massage therapist. She’s quite the multipurpose friend!

They were in town for the Wharf to Wharf run. They were staying at the house of a friend of a friend. They’d brought wine and snack, and all she could find were these mason jars to serve the wine in. It was white wine, hippie-style! There’s never a dull moment with these two!

We had dinner at a restaurant called Dharma’s. They do all vegetarian and vegan food and they are very sensitive to other allergies, with many gluten-free options. Nic has an intolerance to gluten, so he and I are in similar boats when it comes to eating out.


This drippy droopy sandwich Christie is digging into was made on a gluten-free roll. I had a burrito with no tortilla. Jim had probably the toughest time picking a meal because he’s not used to going out and not having a meat option. He chose a burrito and some nachos. Nic had rice pasta with Greek toppings. We all left completely stuffed.

After dinner we had drinks and headed back to Jim’s grandparents’ house and fell into bed.

The next morning we went up to meet our newest nephew, Jim’s brother Chris and his wife Stefanie’s son. His name is Nickolas and he has the cutest chubby cheeks and more hair on his head than most adults do! I was so distracted I forgot to get a photo, so I jacked this one from Stefanie’s facebook. Isn’t he a cute little monkey face?

I only wish we lived closer to them so we could see them more often and watch this little one grow up!

The weekend was all sorts of fun, but now we’ve hit Monday morning, and I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck. Both of my brother’s, my sister-in-law and my nephew were all sick last week, and I think I finally caught a bit of it. I’m congested and my chest hurts and my throat hurts and I’m bundled up on the couch with tea and my dvr. Hopefully this will blow over by tomorrow. I don’t do sick very well.

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun?

Leave a Reply

