One week, corn and wheat free

I’ve officially hit the one week mark, pretty much to the minute, since I found out about my corn and wheat allergies. And, if I don’t say so myself, I’ve done amazingly well at cutting those things out of my diet.

I can count on one hand the times I’ve knowingly put those things into my body, and I’m pretty certain that there haven’t been any times that I’ve eaten something that has corn or wheat without knowing it.

On Sunday, when we went to the strawberry festival, I ate funnel cake, which was amazingly delicious, and (with the exception of the retarded frozen strawberries they put on top. Hello? STRAWBERRY festival, you’d think they’d have REAL strawberries) entirely worth the risk of feeling pooey. Except I didn’t feel pooey after.

On Wednesday, however, I ordered a mahi mahi burrito bowl from Dos Coyotes, which I’ve done so many times in the past, and ate the whole thing…including the corn they couldn’t take out because it was in the rice mixture. This one I paid for. Immediate pains in my stomach and crampiness the next morning for about an hour. I won’t do that again.

I’m heading into a busy weekend, where most of my meals will be away from home, and I’m a bit nervous about it, but I also feel okay. I can make the right choices, and I know the consequences of making the wrong ones. And even though the right choices aren’t the most delicious, theyare usually healthy and that makes me happier in the long run.

What do you have planned for your weekend? How do you eat the way you should (whatever that may entail) when you are away from home?

2 Comments to “One week, corn and wheat free”

  1. I’m sorry this has been such a struggle but congrats on cutting them out and sticking to it as best you can – I know it’s not easy! Thankfully these things become easier with time as you learn more and more go-tos that will be good for you. Fingers crossed! xx

    • Yea. I went with a frozen meal last night because I was sick and just couldn’t bring myself to cook. I hate turning to frozen meals, but sometimes it’s just necessary, I think.

Leave a Reply

