Sunday morning breakfast

I may have mentioned before that on Sunday mornings, I almost always make breakfast. Jim sleeps while I rustle around in the kitchen, throwing things together (unless somehow I have the foresight to PLAN….which rarely happens). This past Sunday, I had a vision…for Jim’s breakfast. Since I’m not doing eggs, I needed another vision for my own, but more on that later. But he thoroughly enjoyed the little concoction I created for him.

Please excuse the crappy cell phone pictures. I had to snap this one before he dug in!

Baked Egg Biscuits

Makes approx 6 biscuits

For the biscuit

1 cup Bisquick

1/3 cup milk

1 egg

seasoning (I used Jim’s stepdad’s special mix….you can include salt, pepper, garlic powder, rosemary…really its up to you)

2 veggie sausage links, chopped (or, you know, real meat sausage links if you have them…I didn’t, so Jim went veggie)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Throw all the ingredients in your handy-dandy mixer and mix until combined. Scoop dough into about 6 biscuits on a greased baking sheet. Bake for approx 7 minutes, or until edges just start to brown. Poke an indent into the biscuits and crack an egg into each. Continue baking for another 5 minutes or until eggs are just set. Season with salt and pepper and serve!

While Jim was eating his egg biscuits, I was eating the delicious vegan pancakes I whipped up for myself.

Vegan cranberry almond pancakes

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp flaxseed meal

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1/2 cup almond milk (if your batter seems a little thick, feel free to add a splash or two more)

splash of almond extract

handful of dried cranberries (if you have patience, which I didn’t, you can soak them in warm water beforehand so they’re softer)

handful of slivered almonds

Whisk together the dry ingredients. Slowly stir in the wet ingredients. Fold in cranberries and almonds. Cook on a nonstick skillet with a little olive oil. This recipe made the two pancakes you see above. It’s perfect for one hungry person (I left about 1/4 of one of those on my plate. They were filling!) or two not so hungry people with a few things (like the grapes and veggie sausage shown here) on the side.

What do you usually have for Sunday morning breakfast? Do you cook or do you go out or  just munch on whatever is around?

5 Comments to “Sunday morning breakfast”

  1. The baked egg biscuits look delicious, and easy!, I’m going to have to pin this for in the future

  2. Yum, those baked egg biscuits look nice. So do your pancakes – I have such a soft spot for pancakes! I usually try out some kind of new recipe for breakfast on Sunday, like coconut flour pancakes or almond flour pancakes (like I said, I like pancakes!) or something like that. Or the old fallback, eggs and bacon. 🙂 Sometimes I don’t have the patience to try something new because I always wake up hungry!!

Leave a Reply

