Lovey Lovey Day

Well yesterday was the day of love, and while it had it’s lovey moments, it was actually quite a difficult day. My dad is in town, which automatically multiplies my stress level. My body was feeling beat up between fighting a bladder infection, being super exhausted and the tension building in my neck and shoulders.  By the time I got home from work, I was ready to just fall into bed and forget the day ever happened.

But we had a date planned, and I couldn’t just bail on my husband, plus, it kind of brought me out of my funk.

Since Jim isn’t working, we decided to try something new this year. With $20 each, we went to the mall and split up for about an hour to pick out as many little gifts as we could within our allotted budget. It was so much fun! I think Jim was a little overwhelmed because he doesn’t spend much time at the mall and he didn’t know where to go, but he did good!

He got me this tea infuser mug, along with a tea bag strainer and a cute little glass fish named Joy the Koi. But my favorite part was the mug. This is what it said on the side of the box:

The flowers in bloom on this lovely infuser mug represent the beginning of beautiful things. Fragrant white flowers and two happy birds, leaning on each other, symbolize the harmony between newly-married couples and wishes for happiness in life in the future.

Isn’t that amazing? He said he didn’t even read the side of the box, but how perfect for our first Valentine’s Day as a married couple?

After we’d made our purchases, we went home and he cooked dinner…nothing special, just some sausages (veggie for me) on the BBQ and a salad and some pasta-roni (I can’t help it! I love that stuff!). Then we opened our gifts. I got him a couple of pieces of Godiva chocolate, a sushi mat, a tiny puzzle, a parachute penguin (you know, the kind with the plastic parachute and you throw it in the air and it glides down?), and a Slushy cup from the As Seen on TV store.

And then we went to bed.

Like I said, nothing major or exciting, but we spent it together and that was what counted.

How did you spend your Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

