10 things to be happy about

I think I need one of these today. It’s shaping up to be one of those days… the ones where every little thing that can go wrong does? Like I went to pick my keys up off the counter and in the process knocked a stack of papers onto the floor. And my coffee mug wasn’t letting any coffee out…until it was…and then it was flooding my face and choking me in the process.

So since my crankiness meter just shot through the roof, I thought it was fitting that I spend some time trying to turn my frown upside down and find some gratitude in this day.

1. I got some groceries last night….so I have my usual latte this morning (even though it tried to drown me on my way to work).

2. I’m working on editing some photos today….while I should be working.

3. I get to spend the evening at my favorite place in the world with some of my favorite people.

Rome Valley Vineyards, where we were married in October.

4. We got a new router at work. Crossing fingers for faster internet! This may not seem like such a big deal, but we have regular outages that leave us with NO internet sometimes.

5. I have a delicious homemade gingerbread soy latte to drink this morning. De-licious!

6. I have a reason to wear my favorite fancy dress again! We’re going to a party next weekend, and it’s a dress-up occasion.

Me (in the dress) and my mommy (in red) and the two favorite people from #3. Gosh that was a good night.

7. I get paid on Friday!! That’s always happy, right? I think it’s time to get my nails done. It’s been….months. Since before my wedding actually…so late September. Eek!

8. I have delicious leftover lentil soup for lunch today…which is in less than an hour.

9. Despite what seems to be an unknown crippling fear, I’ve been writing.

10.  I have to do it. I have to put him every time because he makes me happier than anything else in my life. My husband.

In Santa Cruz for our one year anniversary.

Done. Phew. That was hard today! But I think I’m feeling a little bit better…

2 Comments to “10 things to be happy about”

  1. I had one of those days last week, where it just felt like everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. I think focusing on things that you’re happy about is a great way to turn your day around. I’m going to make a conscious effort to do something similar the next time I have an off day. 🙂

    P.S. I can’t help but laugh every time I accidentally pour coffee out of my travel mug all over myself. I also have a knack for doing that when I’m drinking something with lots of ice.

    • LOL Yes! Ice. Although ice isn’t as damaging as hot liquid. And a little ice in your lap can be quite nice if the weather is super hot. Nothing beats this one though: in Maui with my mom and a friend of hers and her daughter. We ordered some lava flows. I go to take my first sip and the WHOLE THING drops into my lap. I don’t even remember how it happened, but it was SOOO cold!

Leave a Reply

