One of those Sundays

Sunday has a bit of stigma about it. It’s supposed to be a day of rest. And they don’t call it Sunday Funday for nothing. Except in our house (apartment), it’s usually spent on the couch with movies or catching up on shows and a coffee table full of “nosh.” And that’s fine with me. It’s good to have a day to just hang out and recharge your batteries for the week ahead.

But this Sunday was not one of those  Sundays. The Sunday was of the Funday variety. My friend Beth had mentioned meeting up with us, but I hadn’t talked to Jim till late Saturday night because we both got home late. So Sunday morning, I rolled over, looked at him and said “Let’s have an adventure today!

He grumbled a bit because it was only 8:30 and he usually gets up closer to 10 or 11. But once he came into full consciousness, he was quite receptive to the idea.

So I texted Beth and told her we’d meet her in Petaluma in a few hours!

Of course, we needed to make a few stops first.

Model Bakery in downtown Napa for some breakfast

And of course, who can drive through Napa without doing a little wine tasting? Unfortunately, our favorite winery, Gustavo-Thrace, was closed for some reason. It’s right across from the bakery, but another favorite, Jacuzzi winery (yes, of the jacuzzi tub fame…they also made airplane propellers…dynamic family, eh?), was open and hoppin’. I didn’t get any photos there because it was a mad house, and I kind of forgot, but I did get a shot of this cabbage like plant outside.

Kinda cool, eh?

From there we headed up to Petaluma, my college stomping grounds. In the three years and change Jim and I have been together, I’ve never taken him up there and shown him around. It was a perfect day to do it. The sun was shining, it wasn’t too cold. It made for a nice walk through the Sonoma State campus.

 

The main quad at SSU

There were tons of ducks in the lake

My alumni brick

From there we finally met my friend Beth at the outlets in Petaluma (Sonoma State in actually in Rohnert Park…but it’s in Sonoma County, so I guess that works.)

Downtown Petaluma...from my favorite Starbucks!

Petaluma holds a special place in my heart. When I was little, we’d spend weekends at Dillon Beach. The closest city was Petaluma, so when we’d get too bored at the beach while my dad and brothers were fishing, my mom and I and the other girls would go into Petaluma to shop, have lunch, get away from the windy, sandy, cold beach (Northern California, people, NORTHERN).

Also, when I was in college, it was where I worked, and also where I live for two years. It’s the first home I made on my own without my family. I love it there, and even though I don’t live there anymore, it still makes me happy to cruise through the streets of downtown, stop at my favorite Starbucks or bookstore. The only part of Petaluma I am not so fond of is running into my ex….which hasn’t happened in the four years since we broke up and, of course, it would happen the day I bring my husband up.

I am slightly embarrassed to admit that I spun around immediately and walked the other way. His head was down, so he didn’t see us, but it was such a weird feeling. It was almost just an instinctive reaction. I don’t remember thinking about it, I just remember my eyes hitting him, then my feet spinning around and rushing away.

But enough of the unpleasantness, there was far more fun to be had!

We met Beth at the outlets….and had a little fun with hats at Saks.

 

Isn't he cute? LOL

 

After we’d laughed out butts off, we drove to my favorite Thai restaurant for a late lunch. My favorite dishes are yellow curry and pad thai (of course, right?). This place makes the best I’ve ever had.

And who can eat thai food without a thai iced tea?

The lady who served us (who I think also owns the place) was super nice and brought us, on the house, a small pre-appetizer. It was sticky rice with some sort of tomato sweet and sour sauce. When she brought it to the table she asked us if we knew how to eat. We told her we’d never had it before (which was true. It must have been a new thing), so she proceeded to take Beth’s fork and fill it with rice before spooning some of the sauce on top. We were expecting something incredibly complex, but we went with it. I’m sure it’s not the only way to eat the stuff….

Not sure how we would have managed this without such detailed instructions

I’m not sure we could have asked for a better Sunday (with the exception of seeing the ex…at least I looked good in case he did happen to catch a glimpse!). Of course, it would have been nice if our favorite winery had been open. And I wish I’d taken more photos, but I guess being caught up in the moment is a good reason not to get a shot of every experience.

We even got home at a decent hour, and were able to watch a little bit of tv and cuddle on the couch, my favorite part of most of our Sundays.

Leave a Reply

