Thoughts on weddings

I was watching Friends last night, and it was an episode from the season where Monica and Chandler get married. She’s talking about all the things that could possibly go wrong and how she wants to be prepared for any situation.

photo courtesy of comedy central

I’ve watched the episodes from this season several times; its one of my favorite seasons actually. But since I’ve been through my own wedding, somehow it just seems….different…to watch people on tv or even in real life talking about planning theirs.

I guess it’s because if you haven’t had one, weddings are sort of a mystery. They’re built up as the most wonderful day of your life, something you need to pour tons of money and time and energy into. There’s a stigma about becoming a bridezilla and yes, there are a hundred things that could go wrong. But also there are tons of little details that you can’t even dream about until you’ve been there yourself. Watching Monica in that season before I had my own wedding, I couldn’t even picture myself in that position. Granted, I was not a girl who began planning her wedding when she was six, either. I began about December, 2010…just after Jim proposed.

Maybe I’m just weird. But for me, it wasn’t that big of a deal. Don’t get me wrong. I love my husband and our day was so special and so important. But the planning of it was nothing like the craziness Monica makes it out to be on Friends. I even have friends of my own who seem to have been frazzled to no end while planning their weddings. When I got engaged I had a sense of almost fear, and a slight bout of anxiety about the ten months ahead of me because of these things.

But, for me, it wasn’t like that. Sure there were moments of tension. I stressed a bit while trying to find a location. Everything was booking up and I was terrified we’d end up in a stinky bingo hall decorated with streamers somewhere. And again, I got stressed when it came down to the wire and my budget had been almost sucked up but my expenses were still aplenty. But that was it. And on the day of my wedding, I completely floored my mom, my bridesmaids, my mother-in-law and the owners of our venue when I was completely calm, entirely rational and as relaxed as can be in the hours leading up to the start of our ceremony.

But I guess that just goes to show that everyone is different. Everyone handles things differently and reacts to things differently. My thought on it is that if you’re stressing, how can you be having a good time? And if you’re not having a good time, what’s the point?

sarahmaren.com

Obviously, I’m  having a great time. Can you see how entirely un-stressed I am? Sure, things went wrong. Stuff didn’t get put out that was supposed to. But the day was amazing. So many people told me it was the best wedding they’d been to. And you know what? It was the best I’d been to as well. 🙂

Tags:

2 Comments to “Thoughts on weddings”

  1. Hahahah!!! Omg, I’m the biggest Friends Fan! I love that epi! I watch them all the time and can recite the words 😉 You crack me up girl, we have a lot in common!! hahah!!

    xxoo

    • They recently started playing Friends on Nick at Nite and I’ve been LOOOOVING putting it on when I go to sleep. Although I have a problem because sometimes I find myself giggling when I’m supposed to be trying to fall asleep! Ah, such a good show!

Leave a Reply

