My favorite place on earth

Everyone has a favorite place, that one spot where the world stands still, problems cease to exist and perfect harmony is more than just a lovely little ideal. At least I have that place, and I sure hope everyone else has one too!

Mine is Rome Valley Vineyards. It’s the place where we got married, and it’s funny because I booked it before I fell in love with it.

Sunset at Rome Valley Vineyards

Since booking our wedding almost a year ago, the vineyard has become a home away from home. I mention it now because I went up there for a meeting this morning, and I’ve been completely useless since. It’s almost like taking a happy pill. It’s so peaceful and serene and you walk inside the door this time of year and are washed with Christmas spirit (of course, today the Christmas spirit was more or less still spilling out of boxes). There’s always fresh coffee and some sort of special flavored creamer (today was pumpkin spice….although the special creamer is for special people…regular people get plain vanilla. lol). Just looking at all the colors is amazing.

This one was taken at sunrise about two months ago when the grape leaves were just starting to change.

We went up there to help harvest the grapes. They’re all picked by hand at Rome Valley. And it was so much fun! If you’ve never harvested grapes before, I highly suggest it!

The grapes a few months before harvest when they were “teenagers.” It’s been fun to watch them grow and change over the course of the year. Winemaking is something that has always fascinated me…well, you know, since I’ve been old enough to appreciate it anyway. And at Rome Valley the process is in its purest form. No complex harvesting machines, all the labels are put on by hand (largely by MY hands!) and if you go up for a tasting, the owner herself will pour your wine.

 What’s your favorite place in the world?

2 Comments to “My favorite place on earth”

  1. looks so beautiful! How special this place will always be to you!

    My favorite places on earth is Whole Foods and Maui! Ha!

Leave a Reply

