Happy Belated Thanksgiving! + Good Intentions

Happy Belated Thanksgiving! I hope everyone had a lovely long holiday weekend. I know I did…for the most part, but more on that later.

Jim and I spent Thanksgiving running a muck, trying to visit everyone we loved within a certain radius.  We had our main dinner at the house where I grew up My mom cooked the usual turkey with stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, rolls, green bean casserole, fruit salad, etc. I cooked up my tofurkey (and I’m kind of sad I didn’t bring any of it to work for lunch today…). My youngest brother came home from college and the brother just older than him brought his wife and my little nephew Tucker over.

Me and Tucky Boy getting ready for my wedding!

From there we went to visit our friends BJ and Ashley, who own the vineyard where we got married. We’ve become so close with them since booking their property for our wedding. They’re amazing people. We love them to death! And Ashley’s brother and his family were up from San Diego. They have three of the cutest little girls I’ve ever met!

Lastly, but certainly not least, we made our way to Jim’s parents’ house for meal #2/dessert. Jim ate a whole second meal while I had a few bites of stuffing and some of the hash brown casserole his sister had made for breakfast (It’s freaking delicious!) and a couple of slivers of pie. Jim’s step dad manages a restaurant, so he wasn’t even home until early in the evening. We didn’t get to spend as much time with them as we would have liked, but we did our best to fit it all in.

That night my mom and I made our best attempt at shopping at midnight when all the stores opened. We got to Wal Mart at 10 (Gosh, I wish I’d taken a photo of THAT madness!) and promptly decided to go home and sleep instead of being at the mall when it opened. Black Friday madness can really only be endured with the right combination of caffeine and sleep. So we slept, we got coffee and we got to World Market by 7 a.m., in enough time to get our free ornament and movie ticket.

I will say one thing about everything opening at midnight: the crowds were almost non-existent between the hours of 7 am and noon. Most people, it seemed, had gone at midnight and maybe gone home to sleep and returned in the afternoon? Either way, if it means I can shop peacefully on Black Friday morning, I’m all for midnight openings (by then everyone has had dinner and spent time with their families anyway. Plus, with the economy as it is, I bet a lot of people were happy for the extra hours).

And this is where the good intentions come in. Originally my post was going to be titled: Food highlights from the holiday weekend…or something to that effect. Most of the photos from said post were taken with my phone….which happened to die this weekend. I believe we have resuscitated it, but my photos were either lost or deleted. So should they pop up, I’ll add the post because frankly, my weekend in food was quite interesting and I was very excited to share it.

How was everyone’s Thanksgiving? Anyone have a funny/exciting/adventurous story to share?

 

 

Leave a Reply

