Christmas shopping revelation + breakfast

As I was trying to fill in my christmas gift spreadsheet, the one I so cleverly designed for myself last week, I came to a realization about the real reason I can’t finish shopping until the last minute.

I buy based on a feeling, not a list.

It’s not important to me to buy my sister-in-law a scarf. Unless I happen to see a scarf at a store that screams her name to me. It’s why I can never find something for my dad: the man who has everything. I put a lot of thought and feeling into what I give people. It’s not just about having something for them under the tree on Christmas morning. It’s about showing them I love them and appreciate their presence in my life.

That being said, I’ve hit the delete button on my spreadsheet, pulled out a notebook and simply listed the people I want to buy for. Wish me luck! I’m in for a long ride.

Breakfast.

Most important meal of the day, right? Also, I’d say, a lovely opportunity to combine ingredients you love.

Like oatmeal. I love oatmeal. I could (and mostly do!!) eat it every single day (you can find my favorite here). Today, I combined it with my very favorite peanut butter.

I had this peanut butter for the first time on a sandwich at the Peanut Butter and Co. restaurant just around the  corner from NYU.  At that time, you could only buy it there, but now it’s in stores all over the place (thank goodness! I’m a long way from New York!)

So I added a good sized glop to my oats, and wha la! Breakfast!

I had to keep the cute note my mommy left at my desk this morning when she dropped the dog off in the picture. 🙂

And of course, I had to lick the spoon.

Leave a Reply

