Christmas comes earlier and earlier

Is it just me or is Christmas coming earlier and earlier every year? I mean sure the date is always December 25, but the holiday season seems to start earlier every year.

Like this year. For the past several years, one radio station in the Sacramento area has played all Christmas music all the time, starting the day after Thanksgiving. This year, they’ve already started. And the earliest I heard Christmas songs on their station was this past Saturday.

Now I don’t think I actually have a problem with this. I LOOOOOOVE Christmas. It’s my favorite time of year and I am all for making it last as long as possible. But every year, come December 26, I am so sick of hearing Christmas song I have no problem letting them fade away for the next ten and a half months.

One good thing about Christmas creeping up on us is that it gets me thinking about gifts earlier. I am an awful shopper. I always wait till the last-minute, not because I procrastinate but because I can never think of something to get people!

This year, in an effort to combat that, I’ve started a spreadsheet of all the ideas for gifts I have for each person in my life.

I’m hoping this will work. Because let’s be honest, not every person in your life is equal. There are people who it is perfectly acceptable, like extended family, to give a plate of delicious cookies to and there are people, like say your husband, who you want to spend a little more time or money or both on. Not that cookies don’t cost a dang lot of time…at least the way my mom and I do them!…but there’s a little less thought put into that than there is something else.

And isn’t that what it boils down to? The thought. Everyone always says it’s the thought that counts. So it stands to reason that you’d put more thought into gifts for those closest to you. And the fact that you give a gift to some one not so close to you shows you’re thinking about them at all.

This year we have an easy gift though: framed wedding photos. That’s going to be my fall back gift when I can’t think of anything else. And of course, parents get them just by default.

How do you handle all of your gift giving at the holidays?

4 Comments to “Christmas comes earlier and earlier”

  1. Great post, doll!! I love christmas too, but I also feel like summer JUST left us and boom here we are decking the halls already! I won’t lie, my tree will be up next week I bet 😉

    Last year we had no money to spend on gifts and this year we’re ready to spoil!! I’m a giver and it warms my heart to give, give, give and see all the smiles!!

    xxoo

  2. I know! Christmas has come so early this year and though I love Christmas I am usually sick of the music by Boxing Day. But the good news is I have already bought half my presents!

    • Oh you are a genius! I wish I had half of my gifts already purchased. It’s SOOO much work! But, really, its pretty fun to go out shopping too, so I won’t whine too much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

