Craving new

Jim and I have been married for almost a month. We’ve put away all of our shiny new gifts and brought the old stuff to my younger brother or to storage. We’ve decluttered some areas of our tiny apartment and have put others on “the list.”

But our new relationship status, our new life, so to speak, feels like it needs a shiny new atmosphere to go with it.

Granted, most of the furniture we own is from Ikea. We have decorated our living room since it’s where we spend most of our time, but our bedroom walls are still bare. It feels like we are still living in a single twenty-something’s apartment.

But here’s my dilemma. We will be living in this apartment for nine more months. When our lease is up, we’re moving. Whether we are going to buy a house or rent one, we will be vacating the apartment. So buying new furniture is pointless. Anything we’d put in there would be too small for wherever we end up next and anything we bought with a house in mind would be too big for our apartment.

But in the meantime, there’s nothing wrong with dreaming, right?

ethanallen.com

Like this beautiful upholstered bed from Ethan Allen. Complete with the little foot stool at the end, although I’d probably prefer something a little bigger that could store some extra blankets or something in it, but isn’t this room beautiful? It’s too bad back when we were looking at beds, Jim vetoed the upholstered look. 😦 Maybe when we start looking for a headboard again, I’ll be able to persuade him…

ethanallen.com

And look how cute this nightstand is? I love the little pull out shelf. I don’t have room for a nightstand now. My dresser butts right up against the side of the bed. And I love the white. White is so clean and fresh and breezy looking.

Jim is 6’4 and he’s always said he wants a tall dining set.

costco.com

I suppose maybe I can compromise on the white in the dining room. Maybe if I let him get a dark dining set (and one that’s got to be a little difficult to get into), he’ll let me get the upholstered bed…..

I also want a new couch. We have an old Ikea couch I paid $400 for about 8 years ago.

crateandbarrel.com

Couches can be so big and ugly. I’m not sure this one fits the bill as far as looks, but we sat on it at Crate and Barrel and boy was it comfy!

ethanallen.com

But there’s something I like about this idea too. Having a nice little area that promotes conversation instead of tv watching…although we do like to watch our tv as well….and there’s the coffee table I like again.

As long as we still have a small apartment and a mile-high credit card balance, however, we live amid the idea furnishings of single twentieshood and dream of the day our dwelling can also be a comfy and attractive home.

2 Comments to “Craving new”

  1. never stop dreaming! You might want to visit designers showcases for more inspiration

    • Thanks for the tip! I’ll give that a try! I love love love going through places like Ethan Allen and even Ikea and just looking at their displays for inspiration. I can never quite get mine to look as good though….

Leave a Reply

