Weekend recap and waiting for wedding photos….

Married friends, is there anything more painful than waiting for your wedding photos? Every day I check the photographer’s website and every day it greets me with the same happy little message. “This gallery is coming soon! Please click here to receive an email when the gallery becomes available.” Blah, blah.

But come on, how long are you going to make a girl wait?!

Enough ranting, I suppose.

My weekend was rather eventful, beginning with an unwanted trip into San Francisco that turned out to be a pretty fun day. I mean how can anyone argue with “We’ll get a piping hot delicious bowl of this stuff!”?

clam chowder in a bread bowl, a S.F. must-do

Of course, this delicacy had to be followed by a bucket (there were three of us!) of those little baby donuts they make fresh on Pier 39.

And sad to say, this was pretty much the pattern my weekend followed. Junk food followed by more junk food.

Jim and I had friends from Connecticut come into town yesterday, and we spent a nice relaxing Sunday lounging around his parents’ house catching up and showing everyone our honeymoon photos.

But you must know one thing: Dinner with Jim’s stepdad is sure to be a deliciously greasy plate of way too much food. The man is Italian, he doesn’t know any better! We had raviolis with homemade alfredo and marinara sauces, caesar salad, garlic french bread and they all ate meatballs and sausage. Notice the complete lack of vegetables in this equation. And I never eat the caesar salad because I like just a trace of dressing and most people seem to prefer gobs of the stuff.

Just before dinner, however, we did sneak home because we forgot something we needed and I filled my mouth with as many slices of cucumber and strawberries I could before we left again! Anything to get some healthy, much needed nutrients in my body!

We closed the evening with pie and pumpkin ice cream. One of my favorite things about fall is pumpkin! I could eat it every single day.

Since today is Halloween and we will be at Jim’s sister’s house tonight, I have a feeling I’m going to be in the same unhealthy boat, so I’ve started my morning with a nice warm bowl of oatmeal with sliced strawberries and almonds. And a cup of earl grey tea. Hopefully I can keep my act together until dinner.

…and my hand out of the giant bucket of candy I brought into work for the guys today….

Leave a Reply

